Friday | November 10, 2017 | 7:30 PM
Cantata Concert with Myron Lutzke and Friends

First Congregational Church
251 Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230

The all-Bach Program:

Cantata BWV 82a:
“Ich Have Genug”

Cantata BWV 209:
“Non sa che sia dolore” — Bach’s only surviving cantata on an Italian text

Aria BWV 1127:
“Alles mit Gott und night ohn’ihn”

The Musicians (click for bios):

Sherezade Panthaki, Soprano
Elizabeth Mann, flute
Anca Nicolau, violin
Aaron Brown, violin
Liuh-Wen Ting, viola
Myron Lutzke, cello
Arthur Haas, organ

Meet and Greet Reception to follow.

The Berkshire Bach Society kicks off its 2017-18 season with a winning selection of short cantatas, vocal, and instrumental works by J.S. Bach, directed by Myron Lutzke, long-time cellist with the Orchestra of St. Luke’s and a favorite of Berkshire Bach audiences.  Myron returns to lead the players in performances of the church cantata BWV 82a, Ich habe genug (I am content), the secular cantata BWV 209, Non sa che sia dolore (He knows not what sorrow is), and Aria BWV 1127,”Alles mit Gott und night ohn’ihn”.   BWV 209 is the only surviving Bach secular cantata written on Italian texts, and rewards listeners with a glimpse of what Bach’s operatic style might have been, had he written in that genre.

The program features the Indian-born soprano Sherezade Panthaki and St. Luke’s flautist Elizabeth Mann, who pair up in the cantatas that Bach appears to have scored specifically to showcase soprano and transverse flute.

TICKETS in Advance and at the Door:

$30 Open Seating | $25 Berkshire Bach members
$60 Premium Seating | $55 Berkshire Bach members

Premium seats are by Advance Reservation only.

Children and Full-Time Students free with ID