The Great QUINTET Caper

Saturday, May 24, 2014  ~  7:30pm

“The Great QUINTET Caper”KC Photo (tux) cropped

An Evening of 18th Century Chamber Music by Fasch, Haydn, Mozart, Brahms and The Bach Brothers

Kenneth Cooper, Director
The Berkshire Bach Ensemble 

Marjorie Bagley, Joel Pitchon, violins
Irena Momchilova, viola
Alistair MacRae, cello
Peter Weitzner, bass
Alison Hale, flute
Keve Wilson, oboe
Frank Morelli, bassoon
Ann Ellsworth, Rachel Drehmann, horns
Kenneth Cooper, fortepiano


OVERTURE: Concerto in D major for two horns (c. 1745)   Johann Friedrich Fasch
            Berkshire Premiere  [2 hns, fl, ob, bsn, strings, fortepiano]
Quartetto in G major, Wq. 95 (1788)                            Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
            Celebrating Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach’s 300th birthday (Mar. 8, 1714)
            [fl, va, vc, fortepiano]
Quintetto in D major, Op. 22 # 1 (1785)                               Johann Christian Bach
            [fl, ob, vn. bsn, fortepiano]
Divertimento in E-flat major, Hob. XIV 1 (c. 1765)                   Franz Josef Haydn
            [2 hns, vn, bs, fortepiano]
Adagio und Rondeau in C minor-major, K. 617 (1791)
            [fl, ob, va, vc, fortepiano]                                     Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
FINALE: Suite in the Style of Bach (1855)                                      Johannes Brahms
            Composed in celebration of Clara Schumann’s 36th birthday (Sept. 13, 1855)
            Orchestration by Kenneth Cooper – World premiere
            [fl, ob, bsn, 2hns, strings]

Click for PROGRAM NOTE (Email from J.S. Bach!)

Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center | Great Barrington, MA 01230
TICKETS:  413 528-0100 |

Berkshire Bach member discount $5/ticket
(Membership must be current so RENEW or JOIN now to support Berkshire Bach and to get the best price possible on tickets!)

$45 Orchestra & Mezzanine
$70 Opera Boxes | $25 Balcony
PLEASE NOTE: The Mahaiwe charges a $2 restoration fee per ticket.

$15 for 30 years and younger with ID
Free for students with ID